auto paint forum

Jul 29th, 2014, 1:39am

Registering only takes a minute!
Due to spammers, guests can no longer post.

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register

Buy Auto Paint Online and Save!

How To: Color Sand and Buff
How To: Find Your Paint Code
How To: Spray Can Touchup
Making a Tri-Coat Blend (pearl)

Auto Painting Forum
   Auto Paint
   General Painting Discussion
(Moderator: )
   2 tone paint job?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2 tone paint job?  (Read 42121 times)
majoker14
YaBB Junior Member

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

2 tone paint job?
« on: Jul 23rd, 2008, 11:29am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone, i want to start a 2tone pain job, im new to all this but i have a really good genr. idea on how to go about this, i was reading and people told me about a lip happens when the 2 color finish and start, does anyone know how to avoid/ blend the colors so that the lip is almost not noticeable ??

thanks for any input
IP Logged
majoker14
YaBB Junior Member

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: 2 tone paint job?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 24th, 2008, 11:36am »

come on anyone know how to do a 2tone paint job, just trying to see how its done, or maybe a know a good site that can teach that??
IP Logged
maddoggy71
YaBB Full Member

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

« Reply #2 on: Jul 24th, 2008, 11:38am »

I been at car shows checking out custom paint jobs... and there is always evidence of the paint transition. A few were better than others. I think the real radical paint jobs are airbrushed... and they look good.

Regardless, they always looks good from 5 feet away... so I don't think it's as critical as you think.

1) You have to use special tape for paint lines
2) You have to remove the tape while the paint is still wet so it flows and won't stay "raised up"
3) I always heard to put the light color on first

Where I'm confused is: